

Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Student Allowances Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2021

Portfolio Social Development and Employment

On 25 November 2021, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- noted that on 1 November 2021, the Cabinet Business Committee agreed to remove the requirement to have held a residence class visa and have lived in New Zealand for at least three years and the requirement to be ordinarily resident in New Zealand for student loans and student allowances and Fees Free Tertiary Education and Training for study starting on or after 1 January 2022 for those with an Afghan Emergency Resettlement Residency Visa [CBC-21-MIN-0122];
- 2 **noted** that a waiver of the 28-day rule is sought:
 - 2.1 so that the Student Allowances Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2021 can come into force by 5 December 2021 to allow StudyLink to receive and process applications for student allowances for study starting on or after 1 January 2022;
 - 2.2 on the grounds that the changes only confer benefits on the public;
- agreed to waive the 28-day rule so that the Student Allowances Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2021 can come into force on 5 December 2021;
- 4 **noted** that the Student Allowances Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2021 will give effect to the decision referred to in paragraph 1 above;
- **authorised** the submission to the Executive Council of the Student Allowances Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2021 [PCO 24309/2.0];
- 6 **noted** that the Student Allowances Amendment Regulations (No 2) 2021 will come into force on 5 December 2021 and that the changes will apply to study starting on or after 1 January 2022.

Rebecca Davies
Committee Secretary

Attendees: (see over)

IN CONFIDENCE

LEG-21-MIN-0198

Present:

Hon Chris Hipkins (Chair) Hon Carmel Sepuloni Hon David Parker Hon Poto Williams Hon Kris Faafoi Hon Jan Tinetti Hon Kiri Allan

Hon Dr David Clark Keiran McAnulty, MP (Senior Government Whip) Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for LEG