Members of the Taskforce

The Taskforce is chaired by Professor Mason Durie, and its members are Rob Cooper, Suzanne Snively, Di Grenell, Nancy Tuaine and Linda Grenell.

Taskforce Chair:

Prof Mason Durie as Chair of the Taskforce. Prof Durie is Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Māori) at Massey University (Palmerston North) and Professor of Māori Research and Development. A psychiatrist by training, Prof Durie is a contributor to national debate on a range of social policy issues including community, family, education and health. He has previously been a Commissioner on the Royal Commission on Social Policy (1986-1988) and a Families Commissioner. His particular expertise areas can be broadly described as Māori wellbeing, social policy and research.

Taskforce members:

Rob Cooper is the Chief Executive of the Ngati Hine Health Trust, a Māori-owned provider of social services in Northland. He is an appointed member of the Auckland DHB and Chairperson of that Board's Māori Health committee. He has had a long career in the health sector including designing developmental funding pathways for Māori health sector providers during his roles with the Northern RHA and the HFA. Rob is of Ngati Hine Ngapuhi descent. His particular expertise is in health issues.

Suzanne Snively is a partner of PricewaterhouseCoopers. She is an economist who specialises in government, financial services and governance advice to the private sector. Before becoming a partner, Suzanne served as a director on several Boards including the Reserve Bank of New Zealand. Her particular expertise areas are machinery of government, funding models and governance.

Di Grennell is Executive Director of the Amokura Family Violence Prevention Consortium. Di is a member of the Domestic Violence Programmes Approvals Panel and the Second Māori Taskforce on Whānau Violence. Her particular expertise area is family violence prevention, including working with youth, programme development, and provider training.

Nancy Tuaine of Te Atihaunui a Paparangi (Whanganui) is the manager of the Whanganui River Māori Trust Board and a member of Whanganui DHB. Her particular expertise is in health and social services.